National speed limits in Ireland


The Department of Transport sets national speed limits. There are five different types of speed limits and different limits apply to different types of roads throughout the country. If you are coming to Ireland for the first time or you are learning to drive, it is important for you to be aware of the speed limit on the roads.

Speed limits are expressed through distinctive road signs throughout the country that state the limit in each area. These signs are found on every motorway and on major roads and minor roads throughout Ireland and consist of a circular sign with a white background and a red border. The speed limit in kilometres is shown in the centre of the sign in black numerals (i.e. 30 kilometres per hour, 60, 80, etc.). Road distances and speed limits in Ireland are measured in kilometres. You can read more in the guidelines for setting and managing speed limits in Ireland (pdf).


The Irish police force (Garda Síochána) is responsible for enforcing road traffic legislation to ensure that citizens comply with speed limits. This means the Gardaí are responsible for detecting speeding offences and initiating proceedings by issuing fixed penalties to motorists who break speed limits.

An Garda Síochána has contracted the GoSafe consortium to operate safety cameras on their behalf. The safety cameras, operated by GoSafe staff have been on roads which have a history of collisions occurring where speed was a contributory factor. The cameras operate from vans which are marked with high visibility reflective material and display a safety camera symbol. More information is available on

Road speed limits

There are a total of five different types of speed limits throughout Ireland:

  • Town and city speed limits
  • National road speed limits
  • Regional and local road speed limits
  • Motorway speed limits
  • Special speed limits

Town and city speed limits (50 km/h)

A speed limit of 50 kilometres per hour is in place in built-up areas (other than motorways or special speed limit zones).

National road speed limits (100 km/h)

A speed limit of 100 kilometres per hour is in place on all national roads (including dual carriageways) throughout Ireland.

Regional and local speed limits (80 km/h)

A speed limit of 80 kilometres per hour is in place on all regional and local roads (sometimes referred to as non-national roads).

Motorway speed limits (120 km/h)

A speed limit of 120 kilometres per hour is in place on all motorways. You should note that learner drivers, vehicles under 50 cc, bicycles, pedestrians, animals and invalid carriages are not allowed on motorways in Ireland.

Special speed limits (30 km/h or 60 km/h.)

Special speed limits are sometimes applied to designated roads and zones (mainly, for example, on roads on the outside of built-up areas, around schools, etc.). Special speed limits are generally for 30 km/h or 60 km/h. Local authorities in Ireland have the power to introduce bye-laws to set special speed limits in designated areas. A member of the public can object to and appeal an existing speed limit contained within a Local Authority’s current special speed limit bye-laws. You can get more information about speed limit bye-laws and appeals on Read more about powers of local authorities.

Ordinary speed limits

Certain vehicles in Ireland (specifically vehicles that are intended or adapted for the carriage of people, vehicles greater than a certain weight and vehicles that are drawing trailers) are subject to different speed limits than those outlined above.

  • Single and double deck buses and coaches (carrying standing passengers) - 65 km/h
  • Single and double deck buses and coaches (with accommodation for more than 8 passengers but does not carry standing passengers) - Motorways and dual carriageways 100 km/h, Other roads - 80 km/h
  • Towing Vehicles - 80 km/h
  • Trucks (with a design gross weight of more than 3,500kg) - Motorways - 90 km/h, Other roads - 80 km/h

Exceptions to speed limits

Speed limits do not apply in Ireland to ambulances, fire brigade services or Garda vehicles being used in the course of duty.

More information about speed limits is available in the Rules of the Road (pdf).

It is an offence for anyone to use a speed meter detector in any vehicle in Ireland under the Road Traffic (Speed Meter Detectors) Regulations, 1991. Under this legislation, it is also an offence to import, fit and supply speed meter detectors and jammers.

The Gardai are empowered to seize this equipment if it is found in your vehicle or in your possession under the Customs Consolidation Act 1876.

Fines and penalties

If you drive over the speed limit, you will get 3 penalty points and a fixed charge fine of €160. If you do not pay the fine within 28 days, it increases to €240. If you do not pay this within 28 days (56 days from the original fine notification date), you will be summonsed to court where, if convicted, you could be fined up to €1000 and receive up to 5 penalty points.

If you were not the driver of the vehicle, you must complete the relevant section on the notice and return it within 28 days of its issue.

Further information on fixed-charge notices is available in our page on driving offences.

Page edited: 27 October 2022